top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYasmin

My 11 Goals for 2018

Updated: Jan 14, 2018


If you read my first blog post, you'll know that I have made the decision to change my life for the better, to get out of this rut and flourish and really be happy. So I know it's ok to say I want to change, and even to really want it, but to really make it happen I need a plan, and to figure out how I'm going to achieve this change.

Below I have come up with the areas of my life that I really want to improve and how I am going to go about it. This list will not include everything as I haven't completely decided on some aspects and I am still thinking about things, but here we go.

Career


I currently work for a charity as a receptionist and administrator. It's not that I hate my job, it's just not what I want to do. I am not earning as much as I thought I would be at this point in my life and the job just isn't making me feel fulfilled any more.

In 2015 I completed a degree in Events Management with Arts and Entertainment at Sheffield Hallam Uni. Although I am involved in the event management of a couple of community festivals in Sheffield, I don't really feel like I am doing much with the qualification. I know that working in events is what I want to do, I just don't really know what or how though, which is pretty frustrating. What I do know though, is that I want to do something that matters, and something which helps people.

Health and Wellbeing


I need to take some time to heal, to really sort my physical and mental self out. I want to get back into a gym routine, going at least three times a week, although I'm not going to drive myself crazy about it. Im only going to do what I enjoy at the gym, because otherwise I run the risk of getting obsessed with losing weight and thats not the point of it.

This Blog


I really want to spend the time developing Flourish & Thrive, building my readers and followers and trying to make a difference to people who are going through similar experiences.

Not only do I want to build the blog, but along with it, and through it, I want to build a brand and start selling (I'm not going to reveal what yet, until I figure it out a little more).

So lets break these areas down into goals, because at the moment they are dauntingly broad. Here are what I have decided are my main goals for 2018:

Get physically fit

The goal here isn't really to lose weight but to be health and feell good in myself.

  • Go to the gym 3 times a week

  • Find classes and routines that I really enjoy (otherwise I know I wont keep it up)

  • Eat well, eat healthy but also don't deny myself anything.

Work on my self care and mental health

This is a really important one for me as I feel that it will impact every other aspect of my life.

  • Do at least one self care related thing a week, that can be anything from face masks to just sitting alone and reading or listening to music

  • Make sure I take my medication everyday and stick to the CBT course I have been put on

Career progression

It is time for me to move on from my current role, even if it is another admin job but with a different company or organisation. I think it would be good for me to move on (especially if it comes with more money! These are not all that specific or measurable but I think they will be important for me to do).

  • Apply for at least two jobs a week both in events and admin

  • Network and build connections with people in areas and industries that interest me

  • Think deeply about what really inspires me

  • Research my options and think outside of the box

Gain 1000 followers/readers

I really want this blog to succeed, help people, lead to more opportunities for me and help me meet new like minded people.

  • Create and stick to a social media marketing schedual

  • Be confident in what I post and stop doubting myself so much

So there they are, my goals for 2018, I may do an update mid year to see how I'm getting on with them.


What are your goals for 2018? Share them with me on Instagram tagging me, @yasminemoxam I'd love to find out what you aim to achieve.


Until next time,


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page